INKtober day thirteen–the backside

long day!
i ran errands all day with the whole family. then i came home. made a late lunch and then retired to the garden to dig. i am digging a winter garden/cold-frame. i also need to get my garlic into the ground. fortunately it is beautiful weather here still.

needless to say, i totally forgot to prepare paper this morning and didn’t even think about what i would draw until the sun had set. so i used the backside of the page i did yesterday’s seahorse picture on. it is poor paper for the purpose of ink & brush. ink shows through to the other side. poor paper, but a second opportunity to use the same ink stains…differently.

the backside. a two-headed person. which is the front side? it’s my relationships with men. i can’t get rid of them. the man face even looks a lot like my first ex-husband, who, coincidentally, proposed to me today via email. “we should get married…again,” he writes to me. meanwhile, i can’t get my second ex-husband to find his wings and fly away.

which brings us to another backside in this inking. why am i drawing so many apes/chimps lately? wow. i have never drawn so many non-human primates in my life. but they are flying out of my pen lately. showing up in every ink spill.

also! while i was waiting for the paper to dry so i could ink some more on it, i drew a picture for my friend who is doing inktober with me. she is sick today, so i thought i would be nice and draw her a picture for the day in case she is too sick to draw. she does portraits, so i thought, i will do a portrait. a self-portrait.

doriangray

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!!!!!!!!!
what the fuck is that?
studio 365 makes it look so easy…but, alas, i am not good at portraits. i named this one “portrait of the artist as dorian gray.”
now i am very afraid to open my journal.
i was going to post this on her facebook page…but i don’t think that will help her feel better.

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

Leave a Reply

