INKtober!!!

draw an ink picture for every day of october! that sounds more like a good time than a challenge. i am all over this. my friend for 40 years now (no…that’s impossible) told me about INKtober on facebook and i peed myself with excitement. i immediately tried to draw one of my dogs & failed. okay, realism is not my cup of tea. so then this guy came out of me. my sons named him “phil.” i wanted to draw him with a fencing sword but messed up his hand. i went & got a mirror so i could see how he would be holding his hand, but my minions went mad over the mirror (???) and left me unable to model for myself. i was feeling strangely self-conscious about it to begin with. i really really need a room of my own.

anyhoo! see, i am one of those people who needs deadlines & structure enforced by an outside entity in order to produce art in a timely manner. that is why school worked so well for me. when i have no demands for production, i wander off & do other things like dig holes in the ground and chase sheep. so that is why i was so excited to have a challenge that would actually be more like a vacation. drawing a picture a day! with ink!!!!

in other news, on the new moon, i had a break-through. my brain had been itching with an idea that i could not quite reach, and through a messaged conversation with my friend who is somehow in her 40s, i had an epiphany. it is going to be awesome. she instructed me to keep it to myself. i assured her that no one actually reads my blog (other than the truly devoted), however, i guess i will wait & surprise y’all with it. it will probably start emerging here in the #inktober excitement. also, more pages of moses jones can be part of my ink drawings a day! so exciting. so exciting.

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

Leave a Reply

