your story to tell

this is advice given in both writing & art. tell the story that is yours to tell. do not try to tell someone else’s story.

today, reading about the hate & racism that is being stirred to a fever pitch by donald trump’s fucked up campaign, i decided to take a short hiatus from moses jones to address my experiences as a white person in this country. my experiences with the racism i was born into. my experiences as a recovering racist who still has hope that we can overcome this horrible, horrible condition. (i don’t know if condition is the right word. “disease” makes it seem as if a racist is helpless to their state of racism. we are not helpless to overcome the racism that lurks.)

i am working on two comics.

one is my experiences as a recovering racist.

the other is about how i feel regarding the state of racism in my country today.

we need to stop. we need to heal. we need to grow.

Author: emje

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, homesteading, fermenting, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

2 thoughts on “your story to tell”

    1. i have the text written. i am terrified of confrontation and even though i often feel like rocking the boat–the idea of creating a stir & thereby bringing attention–& criticism–paralyzes me. but i feel like it is something i need to say. i feel so helpless. i have to do something.

Leave a Reply

