goodbye dusty knickers

when i did the prototype pages for this comic, back in my drawing II class. way back when i was pregnant for poppy, spring of 2013, there was no dusty in the panels. the dusty in my life asked me, “how come i’m never in your comics?”

so when i started the actual comic pages, i wrote in a dusty. but he morphed into how i felt, deep down, about my own dusty–abandoned. his character has been forever absent from the story, only appearing in flashbacks.

then, briefly, i thought things were going to work out between dusty & me–so i started to bring his character into the present pages of my comic. while i was doing this, it came to light just how deceptive & damaging he was to me and my love for him.

episode two ends with dusty knickers coming back into the life of moses jones.

but now i have packed up everything that is mine, and i have left the dusty in my life. we have 4 kids together. we will always be connected, but i am starting a life without him. a life i have dreamed of starting all these years of feeling abandoned by him–lonely in his presence–but a life i never escaped to because i worried about him and couldn’t leave him for that worry.

i am in the middle of leaving. finishing up at our old place and packing the kids into a car for our new place. i have to get settled, but then i will continue my story, and we will find out how things work out between dusty & moses jones.

i’m not optimistic that their relationship will fare much better than mine with my dusty–my dusty who is no longer mine.

the ending is the beginning.

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

4 thoughts on “goodbye dusty knickers”

  1. So do you think you would have made the realization that you needed to be free of him without your art? That’s pretty amazing that drawing comics helped you realize that… I definitely feel like writing/drawing opens up things I didn’t know about myself too. It kind of lets you step outside your life and look at it with a little more perspective, as you would a friend’s life. I hope everything works out well for you with the change!

Leave a Reply

