money, money

the end of the month looms large and rents want to be paid…as well as a bill for internet, gas & electric, car insurance, credit card bills….

i am a broke-ass mama. dusty needs a raise. i need to make money. he won’t ask for a raise, and i let every injury cripple me and convince myself that there is no way in hell anyone would ever pay me for art…or writings…or, god forbid, art & writings such as moses jones.

i will keep creating whether or not i get paid for it. as i posted yesterday, i want to draw.

but wouldn’t getting paid be nice? wouldn’t it be nice to not lay awake at night wondering how i will pay the bills? wouldn’t it be nice to not have to borrow? wouldn’t it be nice to have enough money that i could, in turn, support other artists?

so i guess i will try. i am going to try to create single works that can be made into print. maybe try to sell small prints & cards with my artwork on them. i’m going to try.

any advice, encouragement, magic confidence powder…etc. would be appreciated on the matter.

or, if you are just feeling generous, i do have a “support an artist” paypal donate link on my sidebar. if someone were to donate, i would hope i could repay them with some original art. but i’m a mess right now…so i can’t make any promises.

i’m talking to you too, universe. putting it out there. i am more than wiling to support my family with my art–but a little seed money–a little encouragement–would be greatly appreciated.

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

3 thoughts on “money, money”

  1. I feel your angst. I really do. Saying it aloud feels a little empty knowing that I am not contributing in any material way. I wish I could have, but of late I am probably sailing in the same boat. But I sincerely wish that you achieve your targets and that you get to taste success soon. Good things come to good people, believe in that. (I hope I don’t sound pompous saying all this. But I am being sincere, if you can believe that). Good luck.

  2. Thank you so much, Sarah!! That means a lot to me! It feels weird asking people for help–I have always appreciated all of your support and hope I can return the favor someday soon.

Leave a Reply

