home is where you ink your comics

i sit in a borrowed house that is home until the end of july. peaceful chaos abounds. not quite a room of my own but also not staying in a guest room. not being forced to “helicopter parent” my children for fear they will break, damage or be damaged in another person’s living space. parenting in someone else’s space has to be one of the most stressful ways to parent. parenting with an audience–also extraordinarily stressful. add in stressed out minions who are amped up on uncertainty and lack of familiar routines…it is a perfect storm of a parenting nightmare.

in the nick of time, before i lost what was left of my mind, a friend of mine abandoned her house, leaving the door open for us to squat here for a few weeks.

i miss moses jones. i think this journal page shows how much i miss her.

yesterday, at an impromptu birthday party for me, a friend of a friend who is involved with the michigan womyn’s festival asked if she could use some mojo for the back cover of the zine for the festival. i agreed–though i do worry about some of the politics–i mean, i am a feminist, but i am a very inclusive feminist…a feminist who believes that all the infighting among women should stop and we should be a united front…and that one of our best hopes for the future is to raise feminist sons as well as feminist daughters….. anyhoo, one of my early early moses jones pictures (done for an art class) is about to be used as the back cover for this zine. it will be cool to get some exposure.

speaking of zines, i am hoping to get the final pages of this episode finished & have two zines for the madison zine fest this year. hopefully, now that i have a space almost of my own, i will be a bit more productive.

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

2 thoughts on “home is where you ink your comics”

  1. Although I don’t have kids, I know how you feel via my little pups! I like to take them everywhere, but whenever we’re at someone else’s house I have to be on constant “helicopter parent” mode (aka pee/poo patrol).

    Also definitely agree with you about become a united front in the feminist world! Before my anxiety had reached crippling levels, I used to be a part of a lot of feminist and animal rights groups- but there was always so much internal fighting about the right way of doing things. Still, I miss being a part of them.

    Love your work as always, great words and picture!

  2. i should join groups…but they’re usually full of people aren’t they? on the “leader, follower, or hermit living in a cave because people suck” scope of things…i mean…maybe i had so many kids so i would just have my own group who would have to agree with me no matter what…except they don’t. dammit!
    sigh.
    i miss having dogs. dogs listened so much better than kids do.
    (thanks for reading & commenting by the way!!)

Leave a Reply

