networking….

(rerun image: zombie angel–i did this a few years back when i rediscovered my pens)

good news: i broke down & ordered a used scanner through amazon so i will be able to upload new art day or night, rain or shine. bad news: i don’t have any new artwork at the moment.

so i am trying to put myself “out there” as an artist/graphic novelist…which is a lot easier for me than putting myself out there as a single mother looking for love…and i have set myself up on tapastic and on deviant art. so now i’m here and on tumblr and on those two sites. i also have an ello account, but i haven’t done much with it yet other than posting, “my life is a runaway train, but i don’t know if i am snidely whiplash, dudley do-right, or nell.”

i may be jaded though. i try to go and find other artists i like, and i am having trouble. i check out the popular comics and feel empty–or deja vu.  i end up “liking” & “following” the obscure and forgotten comics (which reminds me–i also joined the webcomic underdogs page.) today on tapastic’s “daily feed” i saw FOUR different comics about trying to write a comic. i’m sorry. i don’t want to offend anyone. i know i am no rembrant-nor a jane austin, and i probably shouldn’t be critiquing others. but if all you have to write/draw about is trying to write/draw??

but i am scared. those comics were in the daily feed. they were popular comics. we live in a world where 50 shades of gray is somehow taken seriously by the masses. maybe real art & good writing are a thing of the past. like my antiquated style of doing comics….

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

1 thought on “networking….”

Leave a Reply

