more diddling

last night, i started doodling around with the idea of my childhood “hey diddle diddle” comic. i was in the middle of dismissing it as a bad idea. silly. when i started making the characters a bit more freaky looking. it appealed to me. i don’t know if i will continue with this story idea or not…but i definitely like the freakier approach.

i need a scanner. my camera sucks. i looked at one used scanner from craigslist & it was so old it wouldn’t work with a laptop…or would require figuring out cords, etc. and if you haven’t guessed by my low tech artwork, i am not the most tech-savvy person. i could try to sneak out to the printer’s down the street & use their scanner…but i so so so want one of my own. i keep thinking–but i need it to establish myself as an artist! am i rationalizing? (i don’t want an answer here.) i feel like i am rationalizing, but i also feel like a good scanner might help my confidence with my work. sigh.

how about if i sell my car i can buy a scanner? is that an ecological footprint trade-off?

i worry a lot that my ink & brush all hand done artwork can’t compete with all the slick comics out there that use a lot of stuff i don’t even know how to use or where i would find them or what it is called even…sigh.

but i doodle on. hoping to find my tribe of luddite graphic novelists.

more diddly 010 more diddly 011

i tried to see if the ink & brush technique i use with moses jones would work with this idea. and then i just doodled some chick. huh, that sounds wrong. oh well.

more diddly 004

doodle on, y’all.

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

Leave a Reply

