doodle pad family portrait

do the drawings i do on my three year old’s doodle pad count as drawing a picture a day?  she comes and asks me to draw “gaga” (her 9 year old brother,) and i do.  then she clears it and asks me to draw “wahwah” (her 6 year old brother.)  then it is “mimi” (herself) and then “baby” and then “mama” and then “daddy.”  i draw her the family, and she erases each picture to have me do it all over again.  sometimes pepper the cat is requested as well.

here i recreated–with a little more detail than allowed by the doodle pad–the people i draw for her.  minus daddy & the cat.

so that’s as much as i have been drawing other than when i remember to draw in my journal.

journal2one of my doodles here is from Jen Wang’s graphic novel Koko be Good.  i have been working on noticing drawing styles i really like and drawing them.  i don’t want to copy someone else, but if i can evolve my own style, inspired by someone else’s work, that would be cool.  that’s how moses jones was born.  i was trying to re-create this character based loosely on me.  i looked at Jaime Hernendez’s work as well as Tank Girl to take in new ideas and evolve my own style.

speaking of moses jones, i was able to ink a page last night!!  the baby stayed asleep!!  the night before that, i drew two squares–before a tumbling stumbling baby wandered to the living room to find me.  i am working on getting the brushwork done now.  hopefully, it will be up by tomorrow.  maybe i can develop a rhythm.  sleep for 3 nights–stay up the fourth and do art.  something like that.

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

Leave a Reply

