so much on my mind

i have written scripts for what happens next with mojo.  i will actually get some ink out soon and make more pages.

i dropped off my ‘zine at a local bookstore cooperative.  i have given several copies away, but have sold two copies and gotten $15 in donations.  (yay!)  of course they were close friends and/or related to me, but….  and i’m going to go to a ‘zine fest on saturday and maybe see if anyone will swap ‘zines with me.

and i have been “researching” by reading lots and lots of super cool graphic novels.  Terry Moore’s Strangers in Paradise & Echo, Saga by Brian K. Vaughan (recommended by a very cute librarian), Derf’s Punkrock and Trailer Parks My Friend Dahmer….  When I am not getting comic tips from cute librarians, I am finding comics by reading the annual The Best American Comics series.  There are so many cool writers and artists out there.  My new goal is to be an honorable mention in the back of 2015 or 2016’s The Best American Comics.

meanwhile, in my watercolor class, my final assignment and a “narrative” assignment are being brainstormed.  of course i am graphic novelling these assignments.  but i think i am going to play around with other series ideas.  maybe a children’s graphic novel?  maybe i will finally do “scobie-dobie-doo”?  or this masked button lady i painted in class–she kinda begs for a comic of her own.  we will see.  i’m pretty excited about it.  mojo started as my drawing II final project.  and look how far she has come!

Author: emje

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, homesteading, fermenting, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

Leave a Reply

