life interrupts art

i often dream of my life as moses jones…composing storylines that wait to be drawn.  and not just that.  i have 3 more comics waiting patiently for my time and energy (Asshole Season, Spoketh the Blackbear, and Scobie Dobie Doo).  if only i didn’t have to sleep!!  sleep is weird anyway.  so much like death.  and so many fucking disturbed dreams.  i would rather be making art & writing comics.

I do get to create–am required to create; therefore, allowing myself to create, for my water color class.  Here is one drawing i did–of moses jones context.  this started as “bad mom vs. good mom” but then i realized it is actually “mom self vs. non-mom self aka artist self”….  i have come to realize that i am perpetually involved in an internal battle between the two…but here’s the kicker–i don’t have to be!  mom self & independent, freedom-loving artist self want to get along.  they want to collaborate. but here i am, as usual, mucking the whole thing up.

onward.

both of me want to create.  i just need to create.

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

Leave a Reply

