second self-portrait

second self-portrait

this is a companion piece to my self-portrait. it is taken from a photo of my brother & i when i was baby. we have halos because i was commenting on catholic art as an influence as well as film as an influence–hence the film strip. my other self-portrait has to do with the terminator & my sarah connor/madonna complex. my brother introduced me to the terminator.

my brother was killed five years ago. i struggle a lot with his death. whenever i hear a single engine plane, i imagine it is him watching out for me & my minions. he imagined himself to be the michael the archangel. also a reason for the halos.

i think i would like to incorporate my brother loss into my comic. i would like to have mojo periodically visited by what she believes is the spirit of her brother. maybe a hawk.

it should be tomorrow that another moses jones goes live here. i have the preliminary bits done; i’ve just been busy with homework & trying to get to bed at a half-way decent time so that i do not have sleep deprivation (even though the sleep deprivation makes me even goofier.) but i have the bulk of my homework done & will be working on page ten tonight! yay!

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

Leave a Reply

