van gogh’s tank girl

life gets in the way

i’m still letting homework & kids keep me from getting my comic done. i have the next page written, but not yet drawn. however, just now, while nursing my baby back to sleep (one of the times i do my best thinking about zombies, etc) i figured out the layout for the next page. maybe tomorrow page 3 will be done.
meanwhile, here is a pastel i did a year ago in my drawing II class. this is tank girl done in the style of van gogh. tank girl & van gogh are both inspirations for me. back in my early twenties i shaved most of my head & would be compared to tank girl (as well as sinead o’connor). i love tank girl. i am an anarchist at heart. i also love van gogh–though admittedly i did not pay that much attention to him until a dr. who episode with a van gogh plotline. van gogh has a sad story. he only sold one painting while he was alive. he committed suicide, but it took a day or so to die after he shot himself. i only know a bit about him and do not think he was so much talented as he was inspired & passionate. my favorite is his sunflowers & his starry night. he did a LOT of self-portraits. this one was a take-off of self-portrait with a with a bandaged ear & pipe. by the way, he did not cut off his ear to send to a lady–his ear was cut off in a drunken brawl with gauguin (fellow painter) & then sent to a lady. i think that is a much better story.

Author: emje

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, homesteading, fermenting, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

Leave a Reply

