the dangers of bedsharing

the dangers of bedsharing

no zombies today….
i wrote this one a couple of years ago in response to all of the bedsharing debates & bedsharing taboo. i have been sharing a bed with my babies since the second night after my first one was born. it just felt right. i am pretty sure i am part grizzly bear & i kept thinking about how grizzly bears don’t sleep with their child in a separate nest, much less a separate room. so i bought a king-sized futon & put it on the floor & have had a bed full ever since. last night was a typical example of the sacrifices of bedsharing as my newborn was fussy & would not stay asleep–thereby not letting me sleep, and my two year old would wake up when i became exasperated, and she wanted to cuddle & to sleep on my arm as i’m trying to nurse the baby back to sleep. i get twisted into a knot and start to have a panic attack about how this is what hell will be like–wanting to sleep & not being allowed to fall asleep. (any thought of eternity–eternal damnation or otherwise–sends me into panic attacks!)

….huh, i was wrong, there are zombies in today’s post…or at least one zombie anyhoo.
and i will bite.

Author: em4mighty

i'm a disaster at every type of relationship i enter into...except with my kids. i think i'm doing something right there...but it is difficult to tell sometimes, especially since i have a pretty crappy support system since support involves relationships. i am a pretty dark person with a weird sense of humor. i spend my non-mom time cooking, baking, planting, sprouting, experimenting, reading, writing, drawing, plotting, obsessing, and hiding. as a mom i am about as unconventional as i can get. i unschool my kids & give them a lot of freedom to be who they are. this does not help my popularity. but my kids are super cool. i love my kids.

3 thoughts on “the dangers of bedsharing”

  1. I slept with both of my children very close by or typically in my arms when I was still breast feeding.

    Coincidentally, they both happen to be in my bed right now (3:13am) while I am not. They are now 7 and 9. lol

    My only justification for this is that it is school holidays and sometimes it’s just nice to do.

    I’ll probably sleep in Garfield tonight – my recliner. lol

    ML
    x

    1. they do tend to migrate back… my five and a half year old has recently–& reluctantly–begun to share a bed with his older brother rather than me. but he regularly challenges the permanence of that arrangement.

Leave a Reply

